What Are the 7 Chakras

What Are the 7 Chakras

What Are the 7 Chakras

Chakra has been defined as a center of energy. Chakras can therefore be defined as the energy centers within the human body that play an essential role in regulating all its processes, from organs functionality to the immune system and the emotions.

There are 7 commonly known chakras that are found throughout the body from the base of your spine to the crown on top of your head. The 7 chakras are:


  • The Root Chakra


This is the first chakra and it is based on the earth element. The root chakra is associated with the feeling of safety, security, basic needs, physical identity, survival and grounding as it is the base of the chakra system and it lays the foundation for expanding your life. The root chakra is represented by a rich vermillion red color, it is also traditionally associated with yellow and gold. 


  • The Sacral Chakra


This is the second chakra and it is based on the emotional body, feelings, relationships, expressions of sexuality, creativity fantasies, etc. The elements of the sacral chakra are water, its energy is therefore characterized by flow, sensuality and flexibility. The sacra chakra is generally located three inches below the navel, at the center of your lower belly. It is represented by the orange color and it can also be represented by light blue and or white in extremely rare occasions.


  • The Solar Plexus Chakra


The third chakra is characterized by ones expression of will, self-discipline, personal identity personal power, mental abilities, etc. It is located in the upper part of the belly, where the diaphragm rests. It is represented by the color yellow and it can on extreme occasions turn to a golden yellow.


  • The Heart Chakra


This fourth Chakra is found in the center of the chest and is represented by the color green and can turn pink on occasion. It is characterized by love for oneself, relationships, compassion, empathy, forgiveness, etc.


  • The Throat Chakra


This is the fifth Chakra and it is located at the center of the throat and is the passage of energy between the lower parts of the body and the head. It is characterized by expression, communication, etc. It is represented by the blue turquoise or aquamarine blue color.


  • The Third Eye Chakra


This chakra is located on the forehead between the eyebrows, it is considered to be the center of intuition and foresight. It is characterized by openness and imagination. It is represented by the color purple or a bluish purple on occasion it can also be a translucent purple or bluish white.


  • The Crown Chakra


The final chakra is associated with the color white although it could also be deep purple, gold or clear light. It is located at the top of the head or slightly above the head, it sits as a radiating crown. The crown represents the transcendence of our personal or bound to space limitations. It is characterized by consciousness, ecstasy, bliss, connection with the formless, etc.




Back to blog